News & Events

Follow us by subscribing to our news and events feeds

Q & A with Susan Sykes - Reservations

  • 1.Tell us a little bit more about yourself?

I am married to Jonathan and have two kids; Nicholas who is 19 and studying and Kristen (14) who is still at school.I was born and bred in Paarl and have always lived here, so I'm a 100% true blue Paarliet!

I have been at Innpact for more than 4 years (In September it will be 5!) and am responsible for the reservations for Naries Namakwa Retreat and d'Olyfboom Family Estate.

  • 2.Have you always been in hospitality?

I was with the Kagga Kamma Nature Reserve team at their head office in Paarl for 9 years before this position came up.Kagga Kamma is situated in the Koue Bokkeveld past Ceres and the location which is really remote, reminds me so much of our Naries Property.After so many years in the industry I can comfortably say that I know a bit about hospitality.

  • 3.What part of your job do you hate most?

I don't think I'm alone in this, but my pet hate is and has always been "filing"!And then one always leave it for as long as possible and in the end it HAS to be done, by which time it's grown to be a huge heap of paperwork to be dealt with.

  • 4.What is still on your bucket list?

I am really keen to go and visit my sister in the UK and hopefully that will come true soon so that I can tick that one off!But if you're talking about real indulgence, an island holiday will do it for me – Seychelles here I come – one day!

  • 5.What is your favourite food?

I'm a bit "boring" because I love healthy eating, and as I get older I see the importance of correct nutrition more and more.So yes, I'm one of those weird people who love yoghurt, fresh fruit salad and other healthy dishes rather than over-indulging in chocolate and fried foods. But I've never said no to a nice glass of wine…

  • 6.Your favourite colours are…?

Everyone laughs at me because I'm one of those "anything black goes" when it comes to outfits. But if we're not talking about clothes, I love blue in all its hues and splash it around wherever I can.

  • 7.Do you have any hobbies?

Probably my favourite thing to do is reading and I'm always seen with a bookor a magazinel on hand.It relaxes me - and a snooze afterwards is a favourite indulgence too. We love travelling and also visit our holiday home as often as possible as that is one of the places the whole family can relax and just cut loose from the daily grind.


Intimate wedding venue available at d'Olyfboom
Primary Brain Education Consultancy – Background